AHI Architectural Heritage Intervention

“Contributing to enhancing our heritage, as the way forward for 21 st Century architecture is our raison d’être; to emphasize a diverse, rich vision that necessarily complements the intervention is our mission, and achieving it with reflexive and purposeful efforts is the challenge”.

This project, founded in, and directed since, 2011 by Ramon Calonge, Oriol Cusidó, Marc Manzano and Jordi Portal, architects and members of the Group of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage (AADIPA), has, through the years become a platform that includes four actions that are both independent and transversal.
The European Award, a biennial event that brings together and showcases the multiple approaches of intervention in Europe.

The International Biennial, a framework that serves to compare and gain closer insight of quality interventions in architectural heritage in non-European countries.

The digital Archive, a live and open window that provides a panoramic view of interventions in the history of our surroundings.

The Forum, a meeting place where you can participate in on-going debates about the main preoccupations and lines of thought about interventions in architectural heritage in Europe.

5th edition of the Award. Registration open

5th edition of the Award. Registration open

21 December 2020

The European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention inaugurates its 5th edition coinciding with a rewarding anniversary, made possible by the project's 10th anniversary. 

This biennial event, organized with the support of COAC (Architects' Association of Catalonia) and AADIPA (Association of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage), opens its online registration on December 21 and will remain open until March 12, 2021. This event, and yet another edition, is a call to participate to all experts related to interventions in architectural heritage -architects, historians, archaeologists ...- whose works have been carried out in the European geographical area during the period between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2020, and which respond to the requirements of the 4 categories around which the award is structured: Category A: Intervention in built heritage; Category B: Outdoor spaces; Category C: Planning and Category D: Dissemination.

Continuing with the dynamics established in the previous call, to give visibility to a greater number of works, in category A, the jury will make a selection of up to 15 and in B, a maximum of 10, from which, in both cases, will emerge an award-winner and three finalists; on the other hand, in categories C and D, there will be one winner and three finalists. On the other hand, from all the work presented, and also for the second consecutive year, a Special Mention for Restoration will be awarded to the intervention that from a technical and methodological point of view stands out for its quality, precision and respect.

Regarding the official award ceremony, yet again this year, it will take place within the framework of the International Biennial of Architectural Heritage Intervention. A conference that is organized by the award management, with the support of the COAC, AADIPA and the Generalitat de Catalunya, with its 5th edition being planned for May 2021 in Barcelona.

Complete rules
Register now!